<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?><rss version="2.0" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"><channel><title>Procurement on RockB</title><link>https://baeseokjae.github.io/tags/procurement/</link><description>Recent content in Procurement on RockB</description><image><title>RockB</title><url>https://baeseokjae.github.io/images/og-default.png</url><link>https://baeseokjae.github.io/images/og-default.png</link></image><generator>Hugo</generator><language>en-us</language><lastBuildDate>Thu, 15 Oct 2026 00:00:00 +0000</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://baeseokjae.github.io/tags/procurement/index.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><item><title>Tabnine vs GitHub Copilot 2026: Enterprise Cost, On-Premises and Regulated-Deployment Decision Path</title><link>https://baeseokjae.github.io/posts/tabnine-vs-github-copilot-2026/</link><pubDate>Fri, 24 Apr 2026 15:04:05 +0000</pubDate><guid>https://baeseokjae.github.io/posts/tabnine-vs-github-copilot-2026/</guid><description>A dated 2026 buyer comparison of Tabnine and GitHub Copilot: why Tabnine publishes no list price, Copilot&amp;#39;s published plan ladder, and the on-premises and air-gapped deployment facts procurement asks about.</description><content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>If your procurement team is asking what Tabnine Enterprise costs in 2026, the answer from the vendor&rsquo;s own web presence is that Tabnine no longer publishes a list price at all. As checked on 2026-10-15, <a href="https://www.tabnine.com/pricing/">https://www.tabnine.com/pricing/</a> and <a href="https://www.tabnine.com/">https://www.tabnine.com/</a> redirect to Tricentis pages, and Tabnine&rsquo;s own subscription documentation lists only &ldquo;Enterprise (SaaS)&rdquo; and &ldquo;Enterprise (private installation)&rdquo; with no prices attached — buyers are routed to a sales conversation. Tricentis announced the acquisition of Tabnine on 2026-07-30. This refresh therefore answers the cost question as &ldquo;not published by the vendor — quote required&rdquo;, keeps the Tabnine-versus-Copilot pair intact, and withdraws every earlier figure that these first-party sources do not support.</p>
<h2 id="what-tabnine-enterprise-costs-in-2026-not-published-by-the-vendor">What Tabnine Enterprise costs in 2026: not published by the vendor</h2>
<p>The redirect is the load-bearing observation, so it is worth stating exactly what was seen. A single HTTP request to <a href="https://www.tabnine.com/pricing/">https://www.tabnine.com/pricing/</a> on 2026-10-15 returned a redirect whose destination is Tricentis&rsquo; contact form (<code>tricentis.com/contact-us</code>, carrying <code>utm_source=www.tabnine.com</code>), and a request to <a href="https://www.tabnine.com/">https://www.tabnine.com/</a> returned a page titled &ldquo;Agentic Quality Engineering Platform - Tricentis&rdquo;. Tabnine&rsquo;s documentation index for subscriptions, <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans.md</a>, likewise lists only the Enterprise (SaaS) and Enterprise (private installation) plans, and the Enterprise (SaaS) page at <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-saas.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-saas.md</a> tells readers to explore plans or contact sales rather than quoting a rate.</p>
<table>
	<thead>
			<tr>
					<th>Procurement question</th>
					<th>What the vendor publishes (checked 2026-10-15)</th>
			</tr>
	</thead>
	<tbody>
			<tr>
					<td>Public list price for any Tabnine plan</td>
					<td>Not published by the vendor — the pricing URL redirects to Tricentis</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Published plan names</td>
					<td>Enterprise (SaaS) and Enterprise (private installation)</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Per-seat price, seat minimum or licence basis</td>
					<td>Not stated on the documentation pages opened</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Self-hosted deployment modes</td>
					<td>Documented for Enterprise private installation</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>How to obtain a price</td>
					<td>Contact sales / request a quote</td>
			</tr>
	</tbody>
</table>
<p>Two honest boundaries belong with that table. A redirect and an absent public price page are evidence about a vendor&rsquo;s public web presence, not proof that no commercial price exists — Tabnine or Tricentis can still quote private pricing to a named customer, and negotiated rates are never public. And any figure that an earlier version of this page carried for Tabnine (a Dev tier price, a Pro tier price, or an Enterprise price) is unsupported by the sources opened for this refresh, so it has been removed rather than restated.</p>
<h2 id="github-copilots-published-plan-ladder-checked-2026-10-15">GitHub Copilot&rsquo;s published plan ladder (checked 2026-10-15)</h2>
<p>GitHub does publish prices, which is what makes the two vendors asymmetric for a buyer. The plan matrix at <a href="https://docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans">https://docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans</a> describes Copilot Free as limited to 2000 completions per month, and the same matrix carries paid tiers whose amounts are defined in the documentation&rsquo;s own price variables at <a href="https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/data/variables/copilot.yml">https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/data/variables/copilot.yml</a>. The source file behind that page, <a href="https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/content/copilot/get-started/plans.md">https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/content/copilot/get-started/plans.md</a>, is useful to procurement because it shows the exact wording GitHub uses for the seat plans: &ldquo;per granted seat per month&rdquo;.</p>
<table>
	<thead>
			<tr>
					<th>Copilot plan</th>
					<th>Published price (2026-10-15)</th>
					<th>AI credits per user per month</th>
			</tr>
	</thead>
	<tbody>
			<tr>
					<td>Copilot Free</td>
					<td>No seat price; completion limit stated as 2000 per month</td>
					<td>Not applicable</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Copilot Pro</td>
					<td>$10 USD per month</td>
					<td>Base: 1,000</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Copilot Pro+</td>
					<td>$39 USD per month</td>
					<td>Base: 3,900</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Copilot Max</td>
					<td>$100 USD per month</td>
					<td>Base: 10,000</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Copilot Business</td>
					<td>$19 USD per granted seat per month</td>
					<td>Total per user per month: 1,900</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Copilot Enterprise</td>
					<td>$39 USD per granted seat per month</td>
					<td>Total per user per month: 3,900</td>
			</tr>
	</tbody>
</table>
<p>Read this as dated list pricing, not as a cost forecast. The amounts exclude taxes, exclude any negotiated enterprise discount, and cover USD pricing only; regional pricing is out of scope here. The AI-credit column is GitHub&rsquo;s own metering unit for the plan, not a measure of developer output, and GitHub&rsquo;s variables also carry promotional and &ldquo;flex&rdquo; credit values that are not the base allowances shown above.</p>
<h2 id="tabnine-in-2026-what-the-documentation-still-documents">Tabnine in 2026: what the documentation still documents</h2>
<p>Tabnine&rsquo;s product documentation is still live under the Tabnine brand and still describes an enterprise product, even though the pricing surface has moved to Tricentis. The two published subscription shapes are Enterprise (SaaS), aimed at customers with a secure hosted setup, and Enterprise (private installation) for customers running the software themselves; the private-installation page at <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-private-installation.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-private-installation.md</a> states that developers can run the model on-premises or in a VPC so the customer keeps control of its data and infrastructure.</p>
<p>The deployment page, <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/architecture/deployment-options.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/architecture/deployment-options.md</a>, enumerates the shapes: a private installation can be a virtual private cloud cluster or an on-premises cluster on the customer&rsquo;s own network, in both cases a Kubernetes-hosted unit that Tabnine states it cannot access, and private installations can also be deployed in a completely air-gapped environment. Each of those private options is labelled as an option for Tabnine Enterprise customers, while the Secure SaaS deployment is documented as available for Starter, Pro and Enterprise customers. Nothing on those pages states a licence price, a minimum seat count or a hardware sizing figure, so none is asserted here.</p>
<p>One vendor statement needs handling with care rather than repetition. The same Enterprise pages say Tabnine&rsquo;s code suggestions are based on large language models &ldquo;exclusively trained on credible open source code with permissive licensing&rdquo;. That is Tabnine&rsquo;s own characterisation; no independent audit was opened for this refresh, the page does not enumerate which licences it counts as permissive, and the stronger framing an earlier version of this page used — an absolute claim about copyleft licences and no IP contamination — is not supported by the source and has been withdrawn. Treat it as a vendor statement to be put in writing during contracting, not as a verified fact.</p>
<h2 id="on-premises-and-air-gapped-deployment-what-each-vendor-publishes">On-premises and air-gapped deployment: what each vendor publishes</h2>
<p>&ldquo;Air-gapped&rdquo; is Tabnine&rsquo;s own wording, and it appears in its documentation as a qualification on the private-installation path: private installations can be deployed in a completely air-gapped environment, as an Enterprise option, alongside the VPC and on-premises cluster shapes described on <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/architecture/deployment-options.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/architecture/deployment-options.md</a>. A buyer should read that as a documented deployment shape, and then ask in writing about licence terms, minimum seats, update process and support for a network that has no internet path.</p>
<p>On the Copilot side, the plan and deployment documentation opened on 2026-10-15 at <a href="https://docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans">https://docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans</a> describes the hosted cloud plans — Free, Student, Pro, Pro+, Max, Business and Enterprise — and publishes no self-hosted, on-premises or air-gapped option at any tier. That is a negative finding scoped to the pages opened for this check: it is phrased deliberately as &ldquo;no self-hosted or air-gapped Copilot option is published&rdquo; and not as &ldquo;Copilot cannot be self-hosted&rdquo;, because GitHub&rsquo;s data-residency documentation and GitHub Enterprise Server documentation were not opened here, and a reader whose requirement depends on them should check those pages directly.</p>
<h2 id="regulated-industry-decision-path-finance-healthcare-defense-and-public-sector">Regulated-industry decision path: finance, healthcare, defense and public sector</h2>
<p>For a team whose reviewers will ask whether source code can stay inside a network boundary, the published evidence points one way: Tabnine documents an Enterprise private installation that can be fully air-gapped, and Copilot&rsquo;s published plan documentation offers no equivalent option. That asymmetry, not a quality score, is usually what decides the shortlist.</p>
<p>Cost is the question where the published evidence runs out. Copilot&rsquo;s seat prices can be quoted from GitHub&rsquo;s own documentation and dated, as in the table above; Tabnine&rsquo;s cannot, because the vendor publishes no list price and redirects pricing to a Tricentis contact page. A comparison table that fills the Tabnine column with a number would be inventing a figure that neither vendor currently publishes on the pages opened here, so the honest output for procurement is a quote request with a named scope of seats.</p>
<p>Licence basis is the third field to pin down. GitHub&rsquo;s own wording for its seat plans is &ldquo;per granted seat per month&rdquo;, which is a billing unit a purchasing team can match to headcount, while Tabnine&rsquo;s documentation states no comparable unit on the pages opened. Everything else a compliance reviewer wants — data path, retention, whether prompts or completions are used to improve models, and which of those commitments are contractual — has to come from a vendor commitment in the contract, and this article deliberately makes no claim about any of those, because none was verified against a first-party page in this check.</p>
<h2 id="a-procurement-checklist-you-can-hand-to-purchasing">A procurement checklist you can hand to purchasing</h2>
<ul>
<li>Deployment mode: state whether the requirement is cloud, customer VPC, customer on-premises or fully isolated, and ask each vendor to confirm in writing which of those it will contract for.</li>
<li>Price source: record the URL and the date for every published price. GitHub&rsquo;s Copilot seat prices above are list prices read from GitHub&rsquo;s documentation on 2026-10-15 and should be re-checked before signature; Tabnine publishes none, so a written quote is the only acceptable price evidence.</li>
<li>Licence unit: ask whether seats are billed per granted seat, per active user or per concurrent developer, and get the definition in the order form.</li>
<li>Data path: ask for the written description of where code, prompts and completions travel and where they are stored.</li>
<li>Training and licensing terms: if a vendor states that suggestions come from models trained only on permissively licensed code, ask for that as a contractual representation rather than accepting a documentation sentence.</li>
<li>Isolation claim: if the requirement is an isolated network, ask for the documented install and update procedure for that mode, not just a marketing page.</li>
<li>Review date: re-run the vendor page checks periodically, because every price in this article is a dated observation rather than a permanent fact.</li>
</ul>
<h2 id="side-by-side-only-the-fields-both-vendors-publish">Side-by-side: only the fields both vendors publish</h2>
<table>
	<thead>
			<tr>
					<th>Field</th>
					<th>GitHub Copilot (2026-10-15)</th>
					<th>Tabnine (2026-10-15)</th>
			</tr>
	</thead>
	<tbody>
			<tr>
					<td>Public list price</td>
					<td>Published: Free, $10, $39, $100, $19 per granted seat, $39 per granted seat</td>
					<td>Not published by the vendor — pricing URL redirects to Tricentis</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Published plan names</td>
					<td>Free, Student, Pro, Pro+, Max, Business, Enterprise</td>
					<td>Enterprise (SaaS), Enterprise (private installation)</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Self-hosted deployment</td>
					<td>No self-hosted option published on the plan pages opened</td>
					<td>Documented private installation: VPC, on-premises, fully air-gapped (Enterprise)</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Licence wording published</td>
					<td>&ldquo;per granted seat per month&rdquo;</td>
					<td>Not stated on the documentation pages opened</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Metered allowance published</td>
					<td>AI credits per user per month per plan</td>
					<td>Not stated on the documentation pages opened</td>
			</tr>
			<tr>
					<td>Corporate status</td>
					<td>GitHub/Microsoft</td>
					<td>Tricentis announced its acquisition of Tabnine on 2026-07-30</td>
			</tr>
	</tbody>
</table>
<h2 id="where-copilot-still-wins-and-where-tabnine-still-does">Where Copilot still wins and where Tabnine still does</h2>
<p>Copilot&rsquo;s advantage in this comparison is that it can be priced from primary sources. A buyer can read a full plan ladder with dated amounts, a stated billing unit and a published metered allowance without contacting sales, which shortens the early stage of an evaluation and makes budget approval mechanical.</p>
<p>Tabnine&rsquo;s advantage is the deployment axis. Its own documentation describes a private installation that runs on the customer&rsquo;s VPC, on the customer&rsquo;s servers, or in a completely air-gapped environment, and labels those as Enterprise options, which is the published capability a regulated team is usually shopping for.</p>
<p>What this refresh does not offer is a quality verdict. No coding benchmark, model comparison or hands-on evaluation was run for this page, and the earlier version&rsquo;s comparison numbers — a stated quality gap between the two assistants, a debugging-time reduction attributed to Tabnine, market-share and user-count statistics, and market-size projections — had no first-party source behind them and have been removed. If suggestion quality is the deciding factor for your team, run your own evaluation on your own repositories; this article will not supply a number it cannot date.</p>
<h2 id="faq">FAQ</h2>
<h3 id="what-does-tabnine-enterprise-cost-in-2026">What does Tabnine Enterprise cost in 2026?</h3>
<p>Tabnine publishes no list price. On 2026-10-15 its pricing URL redirected to a Tricentis contact page and its subscription documentation listed only Enterprise (SaaS) and Enterprise (private installation) without amounts, so the only supportable answer is &ldquo;not published by the vendor — obtain a written quote for your seat count&rdquo;.</p>
<h3 id="is-tabnine-still-an-independent-product">Is Tabnine still an independent product?</h3>
<p>Tricentis announced the acquisition of Tabnine on 2026-07-30, and Tabnine&rsquo;s documentation still carries the Tabnine brand and Tabnine plan names on 2026-10-15. Nothing in the sources opened for this check states that the product is discontinued or that its roadmap changed, so no such claim is made here.</p>
<h3 id="can-github-copilot-run-on-premises-or-air-gapped">Can GitHub Copilot run on-premises or air-gapped?</h3>
<p>No self-hosted, on-premises or air-gapped Copilot option is published on the plan and deployment documentation opened on 2026-10-15; the documented plans are hosted cloud plans. That is a negative finding over those pages, not a statement that no such deployment is possible under some other GitHub product, and data-residency and GitHub Enterprise Server documentation were not opened for this check.</p>
<h3 id="which-assistant-is-cheaper-in-2026">Which assistant is cheaper in 2026?</h3>
<p>That question cannot be answered from primary sources right now. Copilot&rsquo;s side can be quoted from published, dated list prices, while Tabnine&rsquo;s side has no published price to compare against, so any &ldquo;cheaper&rdquo; verdict would be an assumption rather than a comparison.</p>
<h3 id="is-tabnine-a-realistic-option-for-a-regulated-engineering-team">Is Tabnine a realistic option for a regulated engineering team?</h3>
<p>Its documentation describes an Enterprise private installation that supports VPC, on-premises and fully air-gapped operation — the capability such teams usually filter on. Pricing, seat terms and contractual data-handling commitments remain open questions that must be answered by the vendor in writing.</p>
<h2 id="sources">Sources</h2>
<p>Every source below is first-party and was read on 2026-10-15.</p>
<ul>
<li>GitHub Copilot plans: <a href="https://docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans">https://docs.github.com/en/copilot/get-started/plans</a></li>
<li>GitHub docs source file for that page: <a href="https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/content/copilot/get-started/plans.md">https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/content/copilot/get-started/plans.md</a></li>
<li>GitHub docs price and credit variables: <a href="https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/data/variables/copilot.yml">https://raw.githubusercontent.com/github/docs/main/data/variables/copilot.yml</a></li>
<li>Tabnine deployment options: <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/architecture/deployment-options.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/architecture/deployment-options.md</a></li>
<li>Tabnine subscription plans index: <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans.md</a></li>
<li>Tabnine Enterprise (SaaS): <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-saas.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-saas.md</a></li>
<li>Tabnine Enterprise (private installation): <a href="https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-private-installation.md">https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans/enterprise-private-installation.md</a></li>
<li>Tabnine pricing URL as observed: <a href="https://www.tabnine.com/pricing/">https://www.tabnine.com/pricing/</a></li>
<li>Tabnine home page as observed: <a href="https://www.tabnine.com/">https://www.tabnine.com/</a></li>
<li>Tricentis acquisition announcement: <a href="https://www.tricentis.com/news/tricentis-acquires-tabnine">https://www.tricentis.com/news/tricentis-acquires-tabnine</a></li>
</ul>
<p>No dataset, fixture or downloadable file accompanies this article. The checks above were author-side verification performed on 2026-10-15 by requesting the pages listed here, and readers should re-open those pages rather than rely on any snapshot taken for this review.</p>
]]></content:encoded></item></channel></rss>